How long does a divorce take?
A divorce takes a minimum of 61 days. Texas law requires that the couple wait 60 days before the court can grant a divorce. This is known as the cooling off period. It is the policy of the state of Texas that parties are to remain married. The 60-day period provides them with an opportunity to reconcile.